Silage Bales

I’ve long been fascinated by silage bales especially when found standing in groups like silent sentinels. I still like this close-up canyon we used for the cover of the second Murmansk album End of Navigation, taken years before on a film camera.

End Of Navigation

There’s a whole blog’s worth of painted silage bales out there. The white chemical used to deter pecking crows can often be seen in the form of giant smiley faces or political messages. I seem to recall “BRITS OUT” written on the side of a bale in the late 80’s. Compared to my rural youth silage bales are a rare sight for me these days. I wonder if they are still used for political messages in the age of Austerity and Irish Water?

There’s a story here. Why was all this silage abandoned after the cost of baling it? I imagine two bachelor brothers have had a falling out and haven’t spoken in years.
IMG_0827

Leave a Reply

